My mother-in-law had the biggest rhubarb plants I ever knew. They were seriously under used. Before we sold her house, I dug some roots and transferred them to my new raised bed. That must have been more than four years ago and the plant is still tiny compared to hers. It does give me plenty of fruit and that’s what is important.

I love rhubarb pies but the work (not to mention calories), involved is for sharing, not something I make for myself. I do make rhubarb cobbler at the drop of a hat.

There are as many names as recipes for this dessert. If my grandmother made it with blueberries she called it buckle. If it was made with peaches or rhubarb it was called cobbler.  Tart, pie, torte, pandowdy, grunt, slump,  crisp, and dump.  They are all variations of cobblers, and are usually based on seasonal fruits and berries. They are  simple to make and rely more on taste than fancy  preparation.

Here is my version. I cut up about ten stalks of rhubarb and put it in a baking dish with 1/4 cup of flour and1/4 cup each of brown and white sugar. Mix it all together and add about 3 tablespoons of cut up butter to the top.

I mix up some biscuits. I like to use reduced fat Bisquick cuz it leads me to believe there are less calories but who am I kidding.  Bake for about 40 minutes at 350 degrees. That’s it, simple but delish.


Mmmm. All done.

 

